Restless Wind

George Winston

Genres: Contemporary & Modern

Restless Wind
  • Released: May 3, 2019
  • 11 track(s)

By virtue of his brilliance as one of the foremost instrumental composers of our time, Restless Wind presents a stunning journey documenting George Winston’s sociological observations in American history. Winston repurposes for the modern listener stunningly relevant works by musical greats such as Sam Cooke, The Doors, Stephen Stills, George & Ira Gershwin, Country Joe McDonald, and others. Restless Wind captures Winston’s inimitable melodic language where piano textures and tones set the stage for vivid renderings of classic compositions.

Reflective of Winston’s catalogue of famed albums, Restless Wind is the next chapter for the pianist’s ambitious recordings.

Winston’s latest song collection exhibits his masterful artistry of adapting ensemble arrangements to solo piano with magnificent results. Winston features 10 renditions of culturally potent compositions while opening the album with a new original song available starting March 21, for download and streaming, “Autumn Wind (Pixie #11).”

Restless Wind Track Listing:

1. Autumn Wind (Pixie #11) by George Winston
2. Judge, Judge by George Brooks, 1927
3. A Change Is Gonna Come by Sam Cooke, 1963
4. Summertime by George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, and Dubose Edwin Heyward, 1935
5. Canción Mixteca (Immigrant’s Lament) by José López Alavez, 1915
6. The Good Earth by Jimmy Wisner, 1962
7. For What It’s Worth by Stephen Stills, 1967
8. Medley: Muskrat Ramble/ I Feel Like I’m Fixin’ To Die Rag/ Stop The Bleeding by Edwin (Kid) Ory, 1921/ Country Joe McDonald, 1965/ George Winston
9. The Times Of Harvey Milk by Mark Isham, 1984
10. The Unknown Soldier by the Doors, 1968
11. The Wayward Wind by Stanley Lebowsky & Herb Newman, 1956

More Releases By George Winston