The Seven Vertical Scales
  • Released: August 25, 2020
  • 6 track(s)

On this unique and informative sonic exploration of original solo piano Jazz artistry, Andy Wasserman pays tribute in his signature style to the Seven Vertical Scales at the core of George Russell’s ground-breaking modal Jazz treatise on music theory “The Lydian Chromatic Concept of Tonal Organization - the art and science of Tonal Gravity.” (see credit information below.)

This recording is an aural tribute to the monumental keystone that is George Russell’s life’s work and his contribution to all music and music theory.

[March, 2021 news: “THE SEVEN VERTICAL SCALES” was nominated here on SOLOPIANO.COM for “Album of the Year” in the JAZZ category.]

Each spontaneous composition and improvisation allows the listener to hear the voice, color and flavor of each Vertical Chord-Producing Parent Scale in the specific order from Ingoing to Outgoing as they exist in close- to-distant relationship to the center of tonal gravity, The Lydian Tonic.

These six tracks present the following musical selections:

1) The Lydian Scale (Ingoing Tonal Level)

2) The Lydian Augmented Scale

3) The Lydian Diminished Scale

(#2 and #3 are the Semi-Ingoing Tonal Level : Consonant Nucleus)

4) The Lydian Flat Seventh Scale

5) The Auxiliary Augmented Scale

(#4 and #5 are the Semi-Outgoing Tonal Level)

6) The Auxiliary Diminished Scale (Semi-Outgoing Tonal Level) and The Auxiliary Diminished Blues Scale (Outgoing Tonal Level).


Learn more about “George Russell’s Lydian Chromatic Concept Of Tonal Organization” at his official website:

and at Andy Wasserman’s website George Russell tribute page:

This album was recorded live and broadcast as a livestream event from Andy Wasserman’s website. You can view his weekly livestream concerts and video-on-demand archives of past performances including this one at this link:

All references and terminology of the LCCOTO used here to explain the nature of these tracks and their musical content are copyrighted intellectual property protected by law and belonging exclusively to George Russell and Concept Publishing. All rights Reserved.

The fourth and final edition, published by Maestro Russell in 2001, is available directly from “Concept Publishing” at Amazon.


No reviews have been submitted for this album yet. Be the first to review this album

Add Your Review

You must be logged in before you can add a review.

Click here to log in. If you aren't a member, click here to join for free.

More Albums By Andy Wasserman